Marathons make people do stupid things

I wanted to avoid my long run this weekend because I’m a) heading home to NJ to help my mom out and b) I signed up for a 5k on Saturday morning that last year had some really great freebies. But the schedule said 15 miles. AND IF IT’S ON THE SCHEDULE…

So instead of just running it after work because I can’t possibly miss rowing practice, I decided it would be a great idea to get up at 4:30 am and start my run. It was still early and really dark at 4:30 (I know, shocking, right?) so I headed to the basement gym and did my first 5 miles on the treadmill with Frasier playing on my iPad.  With the gym totally to myself, I didn’t even have to wear headphones.  I was so pumped about having the gym to myself and then I was like, “Oh, right, it’s 4:45 in the morning and they’re all still in bed sleeping…”

I usually max out at 5 miles on my building’s treadmill. I can’t make it any further than that no matter how shitty the weather is outside since it’s always so hot and gross there. (I think the furthest I ever went was 9 miles during Hurricane Sandy.)  After the first 5 I knew it was time to go outside so I dropped my stuff (because when you run on a treadmill, you can have stuff with you) off in my apartment and did the remaining 10 outside.

The weather was amazing. 75 with low (for DC in summer) humidity.  I opted for a really hilly route, my last mile was my fastest, and my legs spent the rest of the day aching.  The biggest downside to this is that post-long run, I didn’t have time to do stuff like go get a bagel (or eat anything for breakfast) or just collapse on my floor for 15 minutes and stretch out.  But, sunrise was so insanely beautiful and the weather was so nice I can safely say that while this won’t be the norm going forward, I don’t regret doing it.  And despite saying I would cox, I ended up showing up and rowing the shit out of practice.  I’m all in on this marathon.

Strangest thing you do to accommodate your training?

 

3 thoughts on “Marathons make people do stupid things

  1. Props to you. I don’t think I have ever gotten up quite as early as that to get in a long run. I hear you on the treadmill. My gym is humid and gross as well. It’s like they want you to never use it, but they’ll collect your money anyway.

Leave a Reply

