26.2 Days of Marine Corps Marathon: The Shirt

Last year at the NYC Marathon, I put something on the back of my shirt. IMG_4493It was a quote from the Phantom Tollbooth that said, “The only thing you can do easily is be wrong. That hardly seems worth the effort.”

A lot of people at the Navy Air Force half had stuff on the back of their shirts, but it was stuff like, “if you’re behind me you didn’t train as hard” or “If you’re reading this I’m not last.”  I want to be clear that under no circumstances do I ever think it’s great to be like, “Hey, let me be a dick and put something asshole-y on the back of my shirt.”

I got a lot of compliments on the Phantom Tollbooth quote at the NYC Marathon. A lot of people pulled up alongside me and said they really enjoyed it, and it occurred to me that if you’re running behind someone for awhile, sometimes having something to read can be a very enjoyable experience.

So, I’ve been putting thought into what I want my shirt to say on the back. I’m seriously considering the following…

Screen Shot 2015-10-06 at 11.17.10 PM

Something for the 7,000+ people behind me to look at

Something for the 7,000+ people behind me to look at

In the past, I’ve ordered through Custom Ink and they’re typically in the $25-$30 price range with shipping included.  Another option for adding stuff to your shirt, especially if you don’t want to ruin your shirt by painting onto it is to do a fabric print out, which costs less, you can make different ones, and you can just pin it on the shirt you were wearing anyway. This is the stuff I’m talking about (currently $4.99 at Joann’s) and I used it to print out the “Foolish Mortals” part of my Disneyland Half costume in 2012. I safety pinned it to the back of my leotard. It’s completely sewable, actually, so you can add it to that race t-shirt quilt you have afterwards.

I made up the Sandlot graphic on my computer through Word, so I can easily print it out and pin it on the back of whatever (Lululemon scoopneck tank top) I happen to wear the day of the race.

Back of the shirt text, yay or nay?

6 thoughts on “26.2 Days of Marine Corps Marathon: The Shirt

  1. I would find it hilarious to run behind someone wearing a quote from the Sandlot. I would just hope that they understood it!

Leave a Reply

