The Morning After

IMG_7772Well, Kellie and I are still alive after the 40th anniversary Marine Corps Marathon on Sunday.

Unfortunately, Kellie couldn’t get a picture with her awesome “mission accomplished” jacket because THEY DIDN’T HAVE ANY OF THEM LEFT.  Yeah.  You know, it’s really hard when you hype up a marathon to your friends like “this is a great marathon” and then she gets to the finish and they’ve run out of jackets for people.  And apparently they later ran out of food boxes, too. This is not acceptable.

All in all, the Marine Corps Marathon was a success in that I finished.  Kellie threw up, I cried, Taylor Swift’s sweet melodies carried me across the 14th street bridge, I know I have a lot of work to do before Dopey in January, and I have quite the delightful group of friends who are always there for me when I’m crying on the side of a race course AND OH MY GOD THAT’S SO MUCH BETTER THAN A MEDAL.

 

8 thoughts on “The Morning After

    • My dad gave me his…he did the 10K. Originally I wasn’t going to accept it, but now I’m like dammit I earned that shit! Thanks for the offer tho! Much appreciated 🙂

  1. *hugs*…I cried too. BUT NOT IN THE MIDDLE OF WIDE WORLD OF SPORTS! #smallvictories

    You rock. We’re always there for you! And if I win lotto, I’ll be there for you during Dopey too (I’ll rent a bike and follow you everywhere 🙂 )

  2. Pingback: I LIVED!!!!….Barely. | Will Run for Ears

Leave a Reply

