Counting Down to Marathon Weekend 2016

IMG_3048It’s usually a pretty seamless transition from Christmas Carols to Disney classics once the holidays are over because that means it’s time for an annual tradition: the January trip to Disney World.  My sister and I have gone to Disney World the second weekend in January for the last 7 years and this will be our 4th trip including a marathon.

I have absolutely no idea how this marathon is going to go.  I haven’t been running as much as I should be in December.  Between my work schedule, the holidays, and family stuff there just hasn’t been the time.  Normally I would be freaked out about this, but honestly I’m just looking forward to the trip so much that it doesn’t even phase me really. I know I’m not going to PR, I know my time won’t be awesome (for me), and I know I’m running without my favorite running partner in crime.

IMG_5421It will have be over a year since I last ran a Disney race without Kellie. Who will be the Hook to my Smee? The Dee to my Dum?! The Goofy-You-Son-of-a-Bitch to my Minnie?!

There are two things that make running a really different experience: music and friends. I’m not overstating it when I say that the race course will be a worse place because we will not be together on it. We lift spirits, Team Can-Am, and we have in the past picked up people along the course (you’re welcome, Disneyland half marathoners!).

Anyone else excited to head down to the World for the Most Magical of Running Weekends?!

14 thoughts on “Counting Down to Marathon Weekend 2016

  1. I’m still debating on this one. I feel a lot more dread than joyful anticipation about it. I wish my run partner was running it with me too. I’m sure that would boost my spirits a lot!

    • I didn’t want to run the marathon last year and she made all the difference in the world. It ended up being my favorite marathon to date.

      Sometimes, it’s also nice to go in with no watch, no expectations, and just enjoy yourself and if that’s not what you’re looking for, life’s a little short to spend time doing something you don’t enjoy.

      • That’s a good way to think about it. Just go and enjoy and spend time doing something I enjoy. So true. I do love running. Sometimes it’s just as simple as that isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

