Dopey Challenge 2016

IMG_8722Once I was past bag check and had gotten to an open piece of asphalt I sat down for a second after the marathon. My medals were around my neck, I had taken off my visor and ears and it took me about 5 minutes to get my body down onto the ground. When I finally did, all I could do was start sobbing.  Uncontrollable ugly crying.

The man sitting next to me was totally unsure of what to do with this situation and asked if he should go get a medical person. I assured him I was ok and my sister was coming over to meet me so not to worry.

I couldn’t stop myself. It was like bizarre convulsions that were simply beyond my control. I did the same thing after the first Dopey Challenge, this uncontrollable just… wave of something.  The exhaustion from the early mornings, the miles, the nerves, the anxiety… After I got my medals and sat down, I guess the uncontrollable sobbing was just my way of expelling all of it. A cleansing of sorts, if you will. I never know I’m going to make it until the minute I cross the finish line.

IMG_8717A lot of people are former college or high school athletes. Sports were always a part of their lives.  For me, each marathon weekend (which is my actual runniversary) is like a revelation. A “holy shit I just did that” moment more so than any other anything.  I still kinda can’t believe I could do it, that I was able to accomplish that for the third time. It still boggles my mind a lot.

But it’s done, and I finished, and a big part of me still can’t believe I’ve now done this 3 years in a row.

For the sake of my sanity, though, Kellie’s going to need to run with me next year.

12 thoughts on “Dopey Challenge 2016

  1. Congratulations! I enjoyed watching your posts on Instagram. I did the same ugly crying after my first marathon, which was Goofy 2013. I was totally fine and then BAM! Ugly crying!

    I’m 99% sure I’m doing the marathon next year and possibly dopey for 2018, since it’ll be an anniversary year for the marathon and Dopey…but I also said I was done doing race challenges, so we shall see!

  2. Congratulations on another one!
    After my first marathon, I was sitting down watching people come in. My coach said he wasn’t even sure I’d just finished because I was so calm and laid back. My breakdown had come out on the course before I finished! By the time I was done, I was just kind of dazed.

Leave a Reply

