Planning for the future

I don’t usually plan vacations very far out or to new destinations. I mean, generally speaking my vacation time goes towards a) going home to New Jersey for the holidays; b) going to Disney; or c) visiting my parents while they snowbird in Florida. Honestly, vacations cost a lot now between taking annual leave and the overall monetary cost of the trip.

But, while I was sitting in my apartment watching the snow fall and the buff surfers of Hawaii Five-0, it occurred to me that I really, really wanted to go to Hawaii. I’ve never been before so I started looking around and lo and behold a spreadsheet was born.Screen Shot 2016-02-02 at 9.00.55 PM

maxresdefaultI’ve been to Hawaii about 5 or 6 times. It was an annual tradition for my mom to reserve and plan out an entire trip only to cancel it before we had to pay for anything. This was back in the days when you could reserve a plane ticket at a certain price without buying it. (We shop the same way, fill up the cart only to put everything back and leave with nothing.)

I was planning the trip to include maybe a stop in Disneyland on the way back for the Disneyland half (in no small part because a direct flight would kill me), possibly a nice race in Hawaii.  A budget has been put into place to start making the necessary financial and vacation club point planning. Aulani is hella expensive (like, 4 Seasons expensive) but if I can do it on points it ends up not being, you know, monetarily expensive.

Here’s to hoping the trip pans out like Gidget Goes Hawaiian and not like something off of Shark Week…

Favorite trips to plan?

3 thoughts on “Planning for the future

  1. UGH. I almost bought plane tickets to Hawaii yesterday only to have them cruelly yanked out from under me. 😦 Someday!

    But that’s not what I stopped by to say. I stopped by to ask if you need a roommate for the 2017 Disneyland Half?

Leave a Reply

