Once Upon a Time… I could run.

You know how there’s that myth that if you go like a year or something without sex you become a virgin again? Well, I’m 99.9% certain that that’s a load of crap but I’ll tell you this: you go 2 months without running a lot and you become like a person who’s never run before.

True story time, boys and girls.

I’m going to finally start wearing my garmin again so I know for a fact I’ve done x miles today. I’ll just go out and cruise control these three miles, I’m sure it’s going to be like nothing. It’ll feel like a crawl. [Heads out for run]

First Tenth of a mile: Wow, it’s all coming back, it’s all coming back to me. I’ve missed running so much this is so great.

Next tenth of a mile: Whew, that first half a mile really flew–oh, wait, what?

Next tenth of a mile: No, I think my Garmin lost reception. There must be so military plane blocking the signal.

End of first mile: Ok, someone just kill me please, put me out of my misery.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m ok with starting from 0 again, and I can say with absolute certainty that I don’t regret at all my decision to reallocate my time to doing other things. I just wish running wasn’t such a vindictive bitch, y’know?

Anyone else start back up after a hiatus only to feel like they’d never run before?

3 thoughts on “Once Upon a Time… I could run.

  1. Yes, but, for me, it never lasts long. Even after a forced hiatus after cancer surgery, it all came back quickly. Having written, that, I was just grateful to be out there again.

Leave a Reply

