Forgetting the Burn

You know, it’s easy to forget a lot of things about running.

This weekend, I did the Navy Air Force Half Marathon again because I can roll out of bed, walk to the start 5 minutes before the race starts, and then saunter back home and promptly pass out. I’m surprised this race hasn’t taken off more since it’s one of 2 half marathons in the District and includes the mall ever since the Nike Half went away (RIP Half I will always love you).

Now you might be saying, “Oh wow, Nicole, you were prepared for a half marathon after not running all summer?”

No, no I was not prepared for a half marathon. But fuck preparation, right? Shock and awe or something, I don’t know.

The humidity was so bad that my clothes were completely soaked through with sweat. I sweat so much that my hand, which was covered in open sores from rowing was burning each time a bead of sweat dripped into one of them.

The chafing was so bad I took what I can only describe as The Most Painful Shower Ever. I might’ve cried a little bit between my blistered hand and my bra band/underwear/everywhere chafe.

Not running far in the summer meant I had completely forgotten about properly prepping for chafing and in case you were wondering, Yes, I paid for it in skin and blood and tears. Oh, and I forgot how bad the post-run-I-gotta-go-to-the-bathroom feeling is, too.

Surprisingly, the running itself wasn’t horrendous. I chugged along, albeit slowly especially given the weather but I felt like “Oh, hey, cool, I’m not as shitty as I thought I was.” If I weren’t missing so much skin on my hand, I would’ve high fived myself.

 

One thought on “Forgetting the Burn

Leave a Reply

